About Us

Mt Tabor United Methodist Church
3543 Robinhood Rd
Winston-Salem, NC 27106

Boy Scout Troop 934 always welcomes new boys into the scouting program. We offer a friendly, safe, and active program designed to build character, physical fitness, skills, and service.

Boy Scout Joining Requirements
Be a boy who has completed the fifth grade and be at least 10 years old, or be 11 years old.

Time Commitment

  • Meetings are one night a week on Mondays from 7:00 – 8:30pm.
  • Meetings are held in the Youth Commons area of Mt Tabor UMC.
  • Weekend activities/trips about once per month.

Outdoor Program
Camping is a special part of the Scouting program at Troop 934.  We camp year round and a trip is planned every month except December.  The Troop plans many exciting trips during the year.
Over the years Troop 934 has hiked the Appalachian Trail, white water rafted in West Virginia, canoed in Florida, and traveled to the high adventure bases of Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico, Sea Base in Florida, and Boundary Waters in Canada. Every summer, Camp Raven Knob highlights our summer outdoor program.

Youth Leadership
Josh Golden – Senior Patrol Leader

Troop Committee
Don Brown – Chartered Organization Representative
Phil Golden – Troop Committee Chair
Committee Members

  • Dan Anthony
  • Derek Bryan
  • Lamar Davis
  • Noah Goodman
  • Keith Huffstetler
  • Cynthia McGuinness
  • Crystal Mercer
  • Dave Roletter
  • John Thomas

Adult Leadership
David Helms – Scoutmaster
Assistant Scoutmasters

  • Rick Abernethy
  • Nat Arnold
  • Wayne Bunting
  • Michael Cartwright
  • Jay Cavanaugh
  • Michael Culbertson
  • Andy Dorer
  • John Elliott
  • John Galbreath
  • John Geis
  • Dale Guthrie
  • Greg Hale
  • Terry Hughes
  • Gray Jolly
  • Steve Kelley
  • Eric Lineberger
  • Bill Marvin
  • Ed McPherson
  • Andy Millsaps
  • Mack Allen Moore
  • Mark Noyes
  • Mark Pfundstein
  • Emery Pike
  • Stuart Smith
  • Tim Snyder
  • Lee Spiegelman
  • Bill Stallings
  • Leigh Summer
  • Shannon Tate
  • Will Vickers
  • Mark Werkman